How to cancel a Shopgate order

In this article, you will find useful information about canceling and refunding a mobile order in your Shopgate Merchant area.

 

Which order qualifies as a canceled order?

Normally an order is considered canceled when the order is terminated after it has been purchased. This includes all cancelations from before an order has left the warehouse to after the order has reached the customer. Therefore a return also counts as a cancelation.

In a broader definition at Shopgate, a "cancelation" can be a completely canceled order or a partially canceled order. All orders should be reported as "canceled" or "partially canceled" when there is a change in the costs (refund) involved.

In general, you should report an order as "canceled" when one of the following happened:

  • If the customer has paid for an order but canceled before anything from the order has been shipped
  • If the customer has returned a package (entirely or partially) to you in refundable conditions
  • If the customer has refused to accept a package
  • If one or more products in an order have been sold out and cannot be re-stocked
  • If an order cannot be delivered due to wrong address or maximum delivery attempts exceeded
  • If a discount needs to be applied to a specific product of a purchased order. How to apply a discount after an order is placed?

 

Do I need to cancel an order manually at Shopgate?

It is important that the Shopgate system gets notified about a canceled order.

If you are using one of the following shopping cart systems, order status including cancelations will be automatically updated to Shopgate. Simply cancel an order in your shopping cart backend, and this information will appear in your Shopgate Merchant Admin page.

  • Magento
  • Shopware 4
  • xt:Commerce 3
  • Oxid
  • osCommerce
  • Shopify (Additional configuration required.) How to set this up?
  • OpenCart
  • 3dCart
  • Volusion
  • X-Cart

If you use a system other than listed above, follow the next chapter to learn how to cancel an order (or mark an order as canceled) in your Shopgate Admin.

 

How do I cancel an order (partly or entirely)?

To cancel an order, please follow the steps below:

  1. Log in to your Shopgate Admin page.

  2. From Orders page, click on the order you need to cancel or refund.

  3. On the Order Details page, click .

  4. A pop-up will appear. Choose to Cancel entire order or part of the order. When only part of the order needs to be canceled, use the drop-down to choose how many items are canceling. The sum of the refund is then calculated. Click Save.



  5. A new Cancelations section should now appear on the Order Details page.



  6. Now you have successfully canceled the order, entirely or partially. This information will be sent to Shopgate and handled immediately.

 

Am I responsible for refunding the customer?

Depending on the payment method of an order, Shopgate may refund the customer for you. In other cases, you may be responsible for refunding the customer.

  • You are NOT responsible for refunding an order if it was paid via a Shopgate payment. The Shopgate payment provider will be notified when a cancelation is created and will refund the customer for you automatically.

  • You are responsible for refunding an order if it was paid via your own payment (i.e. your own prepayment, your own invoice payment, etc.) or a 3rd party payment provider (i.e. Authorize.net, PayPal, etc.).

 

This information can be found in "Refund customer" section. If the information indicates "Refund via the merchant", it means that you (merchant) are responsible for refunding the customer. Please refund the customer from your shopping cart or payment provider backend. If you have any questions regarding this topic, please contact your payment provider.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful